2024 Annual Local Government Conference

December 9-13, 2024
Dena’ina Center, Anchorage


2023 Presentations

Thank you for participating in the 2023 Annual Conference

We would like to thank you all for contributing to a successful and exciting week of events at the 73rd Annual AML Local Government Conference. We welcomed more than 500 members, partners, municipal leaders, and affiliates, to come together, learn from each other, and collaborate on efforts to address our shared challenges. We thank those state and local government leaders, newly elected officials, municipal staff, and conference sponsors for making this conference an overwhelming success.

Engaging Sessions

At the conference, numerous sessions and presentations were held on important topics covering property tax and assessment, mitigating environmental impacts, recruiting and managing a healthy workforce, carbon offset, alcohol regulations, energy project coordination, public safety, governmental uses of AI, and more.

Presentations from the conference have been added to the website. If you don’t see one specifically, please continue to check back if you don’t see the presentation you are looking for.

Business Meeting

At the Annual Business Meeting, AML members met to discuss and vote on resolutions, gauge opinion on current legislation, and vote for new board members.

Newly elected and re-elected officials for the AML Board of Directors include:


  • Beth Weldon, City & Borough of Juneau

Vice President

  • Lisa Parker, City of Soldotna


  • Sam Chanar, City of Toksook Bay

Director, District 1, Southeast

  • Frank Seludo, City of Saxman

Director, District 3, Kenai

  • Paul Whitney, City of Soldotna

Director, District 5, Interior

  • David Pruhs, City of Fairbanks

Director, District 7, West

  • Meghan Topkok, City of Nome

Director, District 9, Aleutians/Bristol Bay

  • Alvin Osterback, Aleutians East Borough

Director, Municipality of Anchorage

  • Felix Rivera

Director, Fairbanks North Star Borough

  • Mindy O’Neall

Director, Boroughs

  • Elmer Armstrong, Northwest Arctic Borough

Director, City/Borough

  • Steve Eisenbeisz, City & Borough of Sitka

NLC Representative – NLC Member City

  • Terry Haines, City of Kodiak

Awards of Excellence:

In a time where community resilience and leadership are more vital than ever, AML highlighted and recognized those municipal leaders who have risen to the occasion, leaving an indelible mark on the fabric of our society, positively impacting their community and shining as a guiding light for all Alaskans. 

AML was proud to present the following Awards of Excellence:

Community Award of Excellence for Economic and Work Environment
City of Soldotna

The Municipal Employee of the Year Award
Margarita Bell, Chief Financial Officer, City of Fairbanks

The Municipal Official of the Year Award
Sam Chanar, Mayor, City of Toksook Bay

Emerging Municipal Leader Award
John Leach, Municipal Administrator, City & Borough of Sitka

Vic Fischer Local Government Leadership Award
Gary Hennigh, Administrator, City of King Cove

Managerial and Financial Excellence Award:

  • City of Coffman Cove
  • City of Akutan
  • City of Aniak
  • City of Hoonah
  • City of Hooper Bay
  • City of Kasaan
  • City of McGrath
  • City of Newhalen
  • City of Nunam Iqua
  • City of Quinhagak
  • City of Scammon Bay
  • City of Toksook Bay

Thank you to our 2023 Conference Sponsors




North Star


Alaska Association of Harbormasters & Port Administrators BDO City and Borough of Juneau Chandler, Falconer, Munson, & Cacciola LLP GCI NC Machinery • Northwest Playground Equipment • Quintillion

Conference Events

GovOS Katmai Solutions CLIA - Alaska Kuna Engineering Alaska Oil and Gas Association • IBEW Local 1547